top of page

Pauline Family


“Then the Pauline Family will be like a tree planted

along precious waters… 

And these waters flow from the tabernacle, Jesus.

Praised be Jesus Christ.”

Blessed Alberione

We are part of a large Religious Family founded by Blessed James Alberione starting from the 20 August 1914, and composed of ten Institutes. Alberione conceived and founded us as a family, leaving us a common spirituality with specific apostolates, and having great complementarity and reciprocity.  It is a vital link from which flows our charismatic identity, nourishes our existence today and guarantees fidelity to the Pauline charism.


And so we see ourselves in this great joint project of the Pauline Family: To live and to give to the world Jesus Master Shepherd, Way, Truth and Life, that is, to communicate the Gospel, proclaim it to all humanity and to the whole person, in its fullness.

The Congregations:


The Society of St. Paul (1914): a religious Congregation dedicated to the dissemination of the Christian message in the world and culture of communications, utilizing all the technologies of communication, including the newest ones.


The Daughters of St. Paul - Paulines (1915): a Congregation of consecrated women religious who evangelize with the instruments of social communication. Present on all the world’s continents, the Daughters of St. Paul dedicate their lives to proclaiming the Gospel with the ardor of the Apostle Paul, from whom they take their name and missionary style.


The Sisters Disciples of the Divine Master (1924): the contemplative branch of the Pauline Family. Attentive to the needs of the Church, they carry in their hearts the universal dimension of the Pauline mission and communicate Jesus Master through an apostolate centered on the Eucharist, the Liturgy and service to priests.


The Sisters of Jesus the Good Shepherd - Pastorelle (1938):  their work in the Church is to accompany the growth of the people of God through their collaboration with priests and all those who carry out pastoral ministries.


The Institute of Mary, "Queen of Apostles" (1959): known as the Apostoline Sisters, they fulfill a new and original mission in the Church, namely: to help young people perceive the call of God and to reinforce and invigorate that call, focusing special attention on the vocation to the priesthood and the various forms of the consecrated life.


The Association of the Laity, known as the Pauline Cooperators (1917), is made up of adults and youth of both sexes who believe in the value of the Pauline charism and, while remaining in their own state in life, are united in spirit and works to the whole Pauline Family. Each congregation forms its Cooperators, taking into account the specific Charism.

The Institutes

The Institutes aggregated to the Society of St. Paul (1960) are composed of individuals who make the vows of poverty, chastity and obedience while remaining in their own spheres of life, work and apostolic commitment. These Institutes are:

bottom of page